The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth- league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

According to the letter to the editor of the parkville Daily newspaper, the author recommends that parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine, since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages. To buttress his argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, over 40000 young players suffered injuries; second, recent interview results show that youth-league soccer players in some major cities reported psychological pressuress; finally, long practive sessions for sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Although it might be true that discontinuing organized athletic competition for kids under nine has considerable benefit, we cannot fully evaluate this argument due to several unaddressed or unstated assumptions.

To begin with, the assumption that 40000 participates suffered injuries is not convincing. The author fails to provide the number of total young players in these sports and severity of individual injury. if a most players got serious injuries, then sports might be dangerious and vulnerable to most. However, if 40000 only account for small proportion of total players and most of those injuries are minor, then it might not be realistic to advocate the dangers of sports. In addition, we should also be informed about ages of those participates. it is likely that most of those injuries are unfamiliar with sports, so that establishing educational sports programs for the youth aged under nine might be more helpful than discontinuing such activies.

Moreover, the author assumes that interview-based survey lays a solid foundation for supporting his argument. Nonetheless, such assumption might not be valid when we think thoroughly. lots of questons and details about the survey remain unexamined. how many players participated in such survey? Where did the survey conduct? what are the detailed survey procedures? Without providing more information about the survey, we are unlikely to gain full idea of such recommendation. For example, if most participants in the survey came from cities other than parkville, then opinions from them may not be persuasive evidences for guiding policies in parkville. what's more, the survey only concerned soccer player, but how about players in other sports? it is also likely that the author fails to mention about goodness talked by players. they might spend a lot of time discussing about who they love and enjor sports, while only briefly mentioned about their concerns. In this case, disproportionate citing results from the survey might lead to bias. those psychological pressure might not be a big problems, given joy and delight in playing sports.

last but not least, the author's assumption that disadvantages outweigh any advantages for athletic competition, thereby discontinuing such competition is ungrounded. Specifically, the author cites from education experts, saying that long pratice session reduces study time on academics dramatically. On the contrary, study time is not directly related to study quality and the final academic outcome. In all likelihood, those youth players got a good balance between sports and schoolwork and taking part in sports would improve their study efficiency greatly. Therefore, they are able to achieve similar or even better grades in lesser time due to enhanced efficiency. Furthermore, the author does not mention other benefits brought by athletic competition. For instance, competitive spirit instilled would motivate students to study harder and persist on their goals, realizing true learning. Frequent sports also contribute positively to one's wellness and health conditions. Hence, it might not be valid to simply conclude that disadvantages exceed advantages largly.

To sum up, as it stands, the suggestion in this letter is relied on several unstated or problematic assumptions. To further strengthen this argument, the author ought to provide more evidences as follows: first, detailed information about injuries in youth-league sports; second, convincing supports to recent survey; last, comprehensive analysis of every advantage and disadvantage.