Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The author proposes that children in Tertia are fostered by interview-centered method will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in island of Tertia than observation-centered approach. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, results from Dr. Field's observation-centered approach show children in Tertia were reared by an entire village whereas recent interviews by Dr. Karp indicate that children spent more time talking about their biological parents. The issue has its own merit, but due to lack of comprehensive evidences, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the author fails to provide the information about the change of Tertia over the past twenty years. The chronological comparison is unwarranted since they measure disparate time dimensions. Dr. Field conducted his observation twenty years ago and it is plausible that the child-rearing traditions has changed dramatically. If fids were fostered by entire village twenty years ago but are fostered by their parents today because of tradition revolution or new settlement, then both methods contribute to the credible conclusions, thereby weakening author's argument.

Moreover, the author assumes that the result of his/her recent interview is credible and convincing. The assumption seems valid at first glance. Nonetheless, after careful investigation, some questions remain unexamined. The interview about the children living in group of island might not be accurate and representative. The piece of evidence that assistant in our evaluation is detailed information about the whole interview processes and sample space. How long is the interview? What are the content of questionnaires? How many people took part in the survey? Who are the target participants? According to the article, Dr. Karp and his graduate students conducted interviews of "children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia". Even though interview method is grounded, there still could be discrepancy between two researchers. It could turn out to be the case, for example, that children on Tertia are raised communally, while those on other islands nearby are raised by their biological parents.

The interview result, in addition, shows that more kids spend much more time talking with their parents. Nevertheless, the time spending talking with their parents does not necessarily mean they are raised by their biological parents. They might just say how they missed their parents or how their parents had left them in a communal environment. The conclusion got from the ambiguous definition of rearing is unlikely to get support to the author's argument.

Last but not least, we are not offered information about details of Dr. Karp's interview-centered approach. Is it properly designed? Is it objective? It is plausible that Dr. Karp did not conduct the interview-centered approach well, but we cannot thus deny the significance of such approach in general. It is also too naive to conclude that interview-centered method is inherently more valid than observational-centered approach. In order to fully evaluate this claim, we need to study more examples of interview-based and observational-based anthropological results respectively.

To sum up, as it stands, the author's conclusion is drawn by incomplete evidences that curtail its validity. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is recommended to provide the evidences as follows: first, how child-rearing tradition changes in Tertia over the past twenty years; second, more details about interview and observational methods by two researchers; third, the correctness and extension of Dr. Karp's conclusion.