“Last year, the number of visits to our local beach in Bridge Bay was 50 percent lower

than the year before. Early last year we ended our contract with Arko Trash Collection, a

company that had serviced local garbage collection for the past twenty years. We switched

at that time to Satellite Waste Corporation, another trash collection company. In nearby

Ocean Harbor, where Arko has continued to provide garbage collection, the beaches are

experiencing record levels of attendance. Meanwhile, in Bridge Bay, complaints about

garbage on our beach have increased this year. Clearly, inadequate garbage collection on

our beach by Satellite has led to the significant drop in visitors. Therefore, in order to

restore visitor numbers to our local beach, we recommend resuming our contract with

Arko as soon as possible.”

The author of the argument claims that in order to restore visitor numbers to our local bbeach, we recommend resuming our contract with arko as soon as possible. To buttress his argument, the author cites the following evideces: first, the nearby ocean harbor who uses arko has experienced greater attendance than us who uses satellite waste corporation; second, Bright bay recievesncreasing complaints about the garbage on our beach this year; third, inadequate garbage collection on our beach by satellite has led to significant drop in visitors.

To begin with, the author fails to provide the comparison between bridge bay and ocean harbor, which circumventing our information to draw the conclusion. if ocean harbor has more favorable shopping stores and beautifual views, while bridge bay does not, then it is reasonable that more visitors will be attracted to ocean harbor. In addition, it is plausible that ocean Harbr become free to all visitors whereas individuals are still charged a lot by bridge bay, then one main reason preventing people from visiting our bay might fall within the higher cost. Therefore, unless the author inform us all the differencesbetween these two places, we cannot simply attribute reducing number of visitors to garbage collection.

Moreover, we are not informed about all the varied characteristics between satellite waste corporation and arko. In all likelihood, using arko is not affordable to us, so that high expenditure on garbage collection deter us from resuming our contract with arko. even though we now draw less visitors, we might earn higher profits. there is also no guarantee that we can successfully restore visitors to our local beach to our local beach. if local people are no longer interested in visiting beach but instead prefer going to mesuems, and our local beach is too far and too inconvenient for other visitors to come, then the total amount of visitors will remain the same even if we resume our contract with arko. With underlying reasons behind recent trend provided by the author, we are unable to fully evaluate this argument and predict the future trend precisely.

Last but not least, the author should offer more details about the complaints mentioned about. it is plausible that the increase in complaints is very small, so that cannot represent the opionions from the general public. Or most of the complaints are from same people who cannot endure with the current garbage. However, this garbage can still be acceptable by most people. To better evaluate the argument, we should also be provided about the content of those complaints. What do this complaints indicate? are they all about the inadequate garbage collection. In all likelihood, if the complaints are about the improper behaviors about the visitors who drop the garbage everywhere, then the change of garbage collection company might not alleviating this issue.

To sum up, the conclusion about the argument is relied on incomplete evidences that weaken the validity of the argument. To further strengthen the conclusion, the author is adivsed to add the evidences as follows: first, whether there are major differences between ocean harbor and our bridge bay in many other respects; second, whether the complaints are all about inadequate garbage collection due to switch of companies; finally, whether more visitors will be again attracted to our bay after resuming our contract with arko.