The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

The extent to which consumer should purchase products that are made with CCC's copper has been complicated in its implication. According to the letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues, the author recommends that consumers should refuse to buy products from CCC' copper to avoid natural disasters. To buttress his argument, the author cites that mining copper on land will result in pollution and cause threat to endangered animal species. While declining to use products made with CCC's copper might be beneficial to protecting environment in some extent, the causal effect is not unambiguous due to unaddressed assumptions.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that land purchased by CCC would be used for cooper mining. While it might use land in such was in many other case, we need further information to fully support it. On the other hand, this land can be used for many other purposes, such as building research center or headquarters or constructing storage. In addition, it is possible that CCC purchase land as an investment and would sell out when its price increases in the future. In such instances, negative impact to environment might be ignored.

Moreover, even if lands are used for mining, the assumption mining would necessarily lead to natural disaster is invalid. Threat to environment can be eliminated if CCC use environmental friendly equipment and strictly follow the rule or regulation from environment institution. In addition, the assumption that this company will threaten endangered animal species is ungrounded. It is true that West Fredonia is home of several endangered animal species, but are lands purchased by CCC habitats to most species? It is likely that West Fredonia is very large, and CCC only owns tiny portion of land, so that these endangered animal species might still have agreeable habitats and sufficient resources to live and survive. It is also plausible that those endangered animals are very adaptive, and so mining copper has no influence on them. Unless the author provides direct causes to environment from CCC, the assumption about disaster is not convincing.

Last but not least, the author assumes that it is readily feasible for consumers to refuse to purchase products made with CCC' copper and abeyance of it would be effective to preclude the disaster. This claim might make sense if people can readily find other replacement to substitute CCC's copper. On the contrary, if CCC is the only company who provide copper, then doing so might strongly affect people's normal livings. Additionally, damage to environment can be caused by many other factors. For instance, the harm could be resulted from global warming, overhunting, overexploitation of natural resources and so forth, and simply limiting one factor might be meaningless. If copper mining only constitutes a small proportion of natural disaster, while overhunting cause more damage to endangered species, then passing laws inhibiting hunting might be more useful than limiting purchase of products made of CCC's copper. What’s more, when the majority revenue of CCC comes from cooperation with big companies or exported to other countries, instead of individual purchases, then such advocate would also not be meaningful. In such cases, CCC can still make large profits and so do not need to promise to consumer’s actions. Therefore, the argument can be strengthened if we are offered evidences about severity caused by copper mining.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion by the editor is relied on several unstated and problematic stated assumptions that curtail the validity of the overall suggestion. To further strengthen the recommendation, the author ought to provide the evidences as follows: first, whether CCC will cause negative impact on environment; second, whether letting consumers not purchasing products made of CCC's copper is feasible and not affect normal living; last, whether environmental condition will be better due to such policy.