The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editor of a batavia newspaper argues that batavia government should start to regulate retail milk prices to ensure fair prices for consumers. To support his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, the number of dairy farms is greater than it was ten years ago; second, the price of milk increased. Tough the issue has its merit, due to lack of persuasive evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that the cost of milk production remains stable. The assumption may seem valid at first glance, further examination curtails its credibility. even if the total quantity of milk selling increases, the farmers perhaps do not make much profit. Owing to economic development, there was an inflation in batavia. The total costs of milk production can be increasing dramatically. Technologies, hourly wage for employees, taxes and many other factors would enhance a lot. After deducting all the inputs in producing milk, the profit made by farmers probably not a large amount. The aforementioned excessive profit is unwarranted. we also do not know the demand of milk. The raising demand could result in increasing prices.

Moreover, the price of milk at local excello food market does not necessarily provide a full picture of the milk price at the entire region. If the local excello food market is the cheapest place for citizens to buy milk, then we may assume that the milk price will be much higher in other stores, substantiating the feasibility of government regulation. If, on the other hand, excello food market mainly provides organic foods and its target consumers are those from relative wealth families, then excello is not representative of the milk price of batavia to most consumers. it is, hence, unfair for the government to regulate the milk price. we are unable to draw the conclusion about the necessity of government regulation without the detailed information of milk price from all markets in batavia. Furthermore, the number of farms increases does not imply the concurrent increase in supply. The national wide elevating amount of farms is not a warranted indication of farms in batavia. even though the amount of farms increases, that in batavia does not necessarily accrete.

Last but not least, the author fails to consider the facts that most family attained higher income over the past ten years. even though the milk price increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon, most individuals can still afford it. The new price is considered as fair to most people. The author, in addition, fails to consider the effectiveness of government intervention. The farmers would come up with many ways to earn profit under government regulation, even inducing severer impacts. Say, for example, farms can add more water to milk in the production which can decrease the overall quality of the milk. Or alternatively, they use some medicine or spur to make the life cycle of cows shorter to have greater output, and medicines can negatively affect citizens. The regulation cannot be readily implemented without considering all the disadvantages incurred.

To sum up, as it stands, the argument by the editor is based on several questionable assumptions that weaken its validity. In order to further strengthen the conclusion, the author is recommended to provide the evidences as follows: first, the milk prices from all the local stores in batavia are increasing largely; second, check whether the cost of milk production has increases fairly and whether the price is fair to consumers; finally, the income and GDP of the area is not increased a lot, thus preventing them to afford the milk at current price.