The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this letter presents a recommendation that the Batavian government must regulate retail prices of milk to ensure fair prices to the consumers. Although, inflated prices of essential commodities is a worry for any citizen and must be looked into by the State, this recommendation is based on a lot of assumptions that need to be evaluated before the recommendation is effective.

Firstly, the author assumes that if the number of dairy farms have increased over the years, the price of milk should decrease. To support this claim the author produces figures from the agricultural department which states that there has been a 25% increase in the number of farms over 10 years and incraesed price in local Excello Food Market. The author bases his/ her assumption only on prices from one retail shop. The author should have instead asked if the prices have risen across all the shops in the country and across all brands of milk. Also, it could be that the government outlets sell milk at cheaper prices than that of local markets.

The other question related to the price rise that needs to be evaluated is when did price occur? What was the timeline? Is it over 10 years or is the price rise a recent occurence. Moreover, the rise in prices could also be due to a number of reasons like inflation, increased cost of production, newer and costly technology, increased maintenance and logistics cost. The author fails to account for these factors.

The author also assumes that increased prices always translate to increased profit. However, there is no evidence to support this claim. The author should have asked what proportion of the retail prices contribute to the profits of the manufacturers. The author also assumes that the profits actually reach the farmer. A lot of manufacturers are the middle which actually make the profit rather than farmers.

Thus, ridden with logical flaws and unwarranted assumptions, the recommendation may not have the desired result.