The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I disagree with the view presented in the argument - study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from those who lived in the earlier times. It is so for the following reasons:

There are 8 billion people currently inhabiting this planet. More have existed before us and many more are yet to come. If there is any one thing that binds us all that would undoubtedly be our history. Our pedecessors’ present is our history and our present will the future history. As the Zen aphorism goes-time flows backwards. It truly does!

The first Neanderthal Man appeared almost sixteen thousand years ago. The modern civilization has studied this and will continue to do so to know its origins. Where did we come from? How did we evolve? Are we any different from what we were earlier? Will we differ from our characteristics in the future? The historical studies reveal this and much more.

Through the studies we realised that man ingenuity is hard-wired. Our needs necessitated innovation sixteen years back and these still drive our creativity and industries. Our early civilizations from Indus Valley, Egypt tell us that human tended to form societies and we still do. Also, the nature of socities evolved throughout time and will continue to evolve further. Be it the provincial settlements of the long lost civilisation or our currently radically networked virtual societies. These are just two of many inherent characteristics of man haven’t changed over time which the study of history has proved.

Studying history provides invaluable lessons so that we donot repeat our mistakes. This is pertinent because history repeats! The social circumstances change but people and their nature does not change. Formation of United Nations is an quintessential example of learning from history. It was formed to not repeat the atrocities of post World War I.

The study of history also in fact to tell us how are values have evolved through history and shaped us as a society. This is a point that I may partly concede in the favour of the view in question. Our freedom struggles were based on values of equality, justice, fraternity but we see those are degrading somewhere today. However, we still

Lastly I think history helps us understand our world as it is today and constantly gives us insights to build a better tomorrow. Thus, I think studying history is not to dispel the illusion of differences but to celebrate the evolution of our civilization.