Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet

access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in

touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Internet is the way of life today. It could be possible that parents can possibly not relate with smartphones and internet not being a part of their life the same cannot be said for the children. They were born in the internet and smartphone age. Both smart devices and internet are a ubiquitous part of their life. According to me, children should be allowed to own cellphones after they attain a particular age, probably after .

In this radically networked society, we as individuals were never more connected. Be it knowledge, information or entertainment all is brought to us at our fingertips. With children having access to multiple sources of information, they can have more holistic learning going beyond what is taught in the classrooms. I personally feel that the school, especially the numerous projects, would have been interesting. I remember, it was so difficult to access sources like wikipedia in developing countries like one I grew up in.

Cheaper mobile phones and internet has made education and information accessible for people living the remote areas too. Students can take free courses from the best universities all free cost through their MOOCs. Apart from these, interent is a treasure trove of educational, informational videos and books!! Who will not want her/ his child reading as many as he/she could.

That being said, all boons would have its banes. The students can be exposed to ‘all’ forms of information. Misinformation, fake news, child pornography too are found on the internet freely which could be accessed by anyone. The exposure to these at an early and impressionable age may have deleterious effects. There have been cases where internet and phones have been used as a medium to radicalise young adults to dangers of society and religion.

Although there are potential dangers of exposure to internet at an early stage, I think the benefits outweigh. A constructive and at times, restricted use of technology is useful for the development of young children and should not be restricted by parents.