The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One’s thinking is conditioned by the things, events he/she sees, feels, hears, senses and understands. These things could be everyday things or interests that are deeply nuanced and niche. I think our everyday interactions and the musing we thus have generate the best ideas.

Necessity is the mother of all inventions, they say. Human ingenuity separates us from all other living species on the planet. The ancient man grew tired of walking everday, he invented the wheel. Our pedessors feared for life, started staying together and thus were born societies. These ideas were born out of regular, mundane, everyday events.

To some these rountine events become questions of philosophical thought. Deliberating of questions like how do society and man relate with with other led Rousseau to the ideas of social contract and democracy. One can doesnt have to go very far in time in order to dig out evidences these evidence. Pondering over questions about how time works led a patent officer to discover the theories of relativity. These ideas formed the basis of quantum physics. These theories today have been validated after the sighting of a black hole. What a feat for us humans!

This is one example where the patent distinction between commonplace inspirations and highly niche researched highly is observed. Quantum physics may have started with a child-like question but the processes to find these answers were methodical and were backed by keen and systematic enquiry. Another example of such enquiry is that Nobel prize winning theories on behavioural economics by Daniel Khaneman and Amos Tversky. They had the intial ideas during their walks and talks together, which were only later developed. The inspiration for all the ideas was indeed commonplace.

It can be argued that the illustrations above may seems to suggest that in order to come to frutition commonplace inspirations will always need academic backing. But it is not so. The fine art, literature, architecture are all full of examples of inspirations that are commonplace. Be it VanGogh sunflowers that he drew ebveryday or Jane Austen’