The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the business manager does not mention the time/ duration devoted to national news and the others news. It also doesn't mention how much time was increased for the national news. The relative allocated time duration would be helpful to understand the point of view of locals where they complained of less coverage on weather.

The other aspect that could be relevant would be the content of the news. If important local news is being missed due to decreased time, it would strengthen the argument. For instance, reports and alerts on bad weather getting missed. Or reports on events related to local security where underrated. Such evidences could help strengthen the argument. However, the other way round could be true to. There could be news of national importance and has to aired in that case the argument would go against.

The memorandum reports that there was a loss of viewership. Adding data on the number of viewers pre and post time changes and the viewership per program can help understand the position as late-night news program is mentioned too.

If evidence on magnitude of loss of business of the local vendors could be added, it would support the vendors decision of cancellation of advertisements and strengthen the decision of restoring time limits.

Including losses of advertisement revenues and its impact on the television station can be important to understand how much the station really lost. If it was marginal then perphas it can decrease the time dedicated to local news. If it is ging is losses, the argument then strengthens.