The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the present argument the author proposes to to promote better health of its citizens. The author of this proposal is the vice president of a small but expanding chain of stores. Although healthy eating definitely leads to better life, one needs to approach this proposal with caution as it comes from someone who is perhaps searching for newer markets for his/her product.

Even if one discounts ulterior motives, if any, being this proposal, it is rife with assumptions that need careful evaluation. The proposal begins with the author building his/her case on the assumption that his/her stores do well is areas with people who are highly concerned with their health. The evidence seems anecdotal. There is no numerical evidence to back the profitability, as claimed. The author could have given some data to strengthen his/her argument.

One indication of healthy behaviours of people of Plainsville, as provided by the author, is merchants reporting all time high sales of running shoes and fitness equipment in the city. However, this is highly vague. There is no evidence on the timeline of sales, what of fitness equipment is being sold, who is buying, for what purpose. There could be reasons like an upcoming city sporting event like a marathon or some transient fitness fad that must have led to the surge in sales.

The other evidence that the author provides for healthy behaviours is, the reopening of a local health club could have gone out of business due to other factors like license issues and not necessarily due to low enrollment. If the shop is up and running, is on going the enrolments will obviously be better

Banks on tapping newer target audience that is, the school going children. The VP assumes that if the students have to participate in an exercise program, they will also consume the stores healthy snack. There is no basis to correlate exercising to keep fit and eating the brand’s food.

The overall emphasis is allective to a making a profitable business model rather than promoting health. In this case, linking exercise and health foods is a specious argument after all.