The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A successful teacher is the one who makes one aware of both his/her strengths and weaknesses equally. According to my opinion, focusing just on the positive actions and ignoring the negative ones can actually prove detrimental to growth rather than promoting it. So, I am disinclined to agree with the view presented.

Humans have a proclivity of agreeing with opinions that generally match their own, that is, we seek constant validation. With this in mind, if a teacher focuses just on the positive actions of the student, that might lead to the student being delusional. The student may start to harbour a false sense of achievement and thus become complacent. This is in no way helpful to any individual to learn. It rather impedes learning. Just imagine, an athlete with a coach who just focuses on the strengths of his/her students. The weaknesses or the athlete’s deleterious habits will be constantly overlooked.

The ill effects of teaching by just focusing on the positve actions is not limited to teachers in educational institutes or coaches but begins at home. If parents overlook the negative ations of their children it may lead to their rogue, intransigent behaviour later in adulthood. Such consequences can be avoided by early intervention.

The interventions are pretty simple and based on the principles of honesty and trust- pillars of any relationship. The relation could be that of a student and teacher, friends, family. Constructive critism that addresses both the negative and positive actions of an individual is very important for learning. I would like to share an anecdote. I train in Indian Classical vocals. During my practice sessions- riyaaz we call in in India, my teacher told me that I sing my notes very flat but I sing with a lot of passion. But passion is no substitute for prescision. I practised really hard thereafter.

However, I believe that excessive criticism might break the morale of someone who is genuninely tanlented.

Thus, I think focusing just on the positive actions does not facilitate learning but an environment favouring constructive criticism definitely will aid in postive and incremental growth in an individual .