The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given article is written by an anthropologist Dr. Karp where she/he invalidates the findings of a study conducted by the noted anthropologist Dr. Field. Dr. Karp disappoves of the observation-centric approches to study anthroplogy and promotes interview-centric approach. On perusal of the articles, the following lapses in the argument were found.

Dr. Karp’s studies the childing rearing traditions in the island of Tertia, which also was the subject of Dr. Field’s study twenty years ago. The first patent lapse in evidence lies in this gap between two time periods. Dr. Field found that the children were reared by the village and Dr. Karp assumes otherwise. Dr. karp’s article does not mention anything about the traditions. The children interviewed then may have become parents now. The traditions would have chanegd in the past two decades. There is no discussion on the evolution of the tradition. In case, the traditions would have evolved, this evidence woulfd strengthen Dr. Karp’s claim.

The seond gap lies in the methodology and consequent findings of the study. Dr. Field concluded that the children were reared by the entire village and not just the parents. On the other hand, Dr. Karp found that the children spoke more about the biological parents rather than villagers. Perhaps the study tool comprised of question focused on their biological parents and less on the villagers and thus ellicted more responses about the parents.

The varied approaches adopted by the two researchers would have their own set of advantages and disadvantages. Sometimes, observational findings may supplement or contradict the responses during the interview. In case, Dr. Karp’s study tool was based focused more on parents and less on the villagers, then it would have led to missing nuances which were reflective of the traditions. Invalidating Dr. Field’s study and the methodology outrightly on the basis of perhaps baised interview tool considerably weaken Dr. Karp’s stand.

Dr. Karp’s study was conducted by her team of graduate students whereas Dr. Field conducted the study own his own. The article claims that Dr. Field was a noted and thus, an expert in the field. Given his eminence, his erudition and way of conducting the study would be far more nuanced than that of fledgling researchers. With all due respect to the students and their intellect, experience would triumph over amateur when it comes to studying a subject like human interactions.

Hence, for the reasons stated above Dr. Karp’s aricle fails to provide a convincing argument.