The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the editor of an environmental magazine, the author highlights that there has been a decline in the population of amphibians in Xanadu National Park. In the letter, the author cites several reasons for this decline. On perusal of the letter it was found that there are apparent lapses in the arguments presented. These gaps are discussed as below:

The author compares the population of amphibians in 2002 to the that in 1975. Although by looking at the numbers, it can be plausible that some species got extinct and disappeared. However, the time gap between the time period of reference is too long. It could have been that while the census was being carried out in 2002, the other three species could be hibernating. It could have been possible that the species must have migrated, seasonal migration perhaps, to some other part of the country and thus would have disappreared during the census.

Moreover, it is elaborated if the same study or methodology of study was used in both 1975 and 2002. The letter fails to give details on the objectives of the study too. Perphas the study in 2002 was related to those four amphibians only and thus didn’t take the other three in account. In such cases, the study will not be representative of the amphibian population in Xanadu National Park.

The author also claims that amphibian population has declined worldwide due to global pollution of water and air. However, the author does not mention anywhere in the letter that the national park has been polluted. It doesnot even mention if pollution affected any particular species and was responsible for its extinction. If it were so, then the decline in population and disapperance of three species could have been justified. However, in the absence of any evidence regarding the pollution of the national park premises, it cannot be correleated.

On the other hand, the author explicitly mentions that decline in amphibian population in Xanadu was due to an amphibian egg eating trout introduced in the park in 1975. In case, if the there were evidence that trout selectively ate the three species that disappreaded by 2002, then the author’s argument would be strenthened.

Thus, in the consideration of some major lapses, it is possible to view the author’s arguments as strong enough to be credible.