The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author claims that there were 7 species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park in 1975, among the seven species of amphibians only four species were left in 2020. There is a worldwide decline in the amphibians , but author thinks that the reason of reduction in number of amphibians ,in the park, is trout.

The argument above is well presented and appears to be relatively sound at first glance: since the trout can be the reason of the reduction in the count of the amphibians in the park, as they were abundant before trout came to Xanadu and trout eats amphibians. However, as more light is shed and relative facts are concerned, the arguments does not seem compelling and leads to question the validity of the argument.

first, author states that in 1975, there were 7 species which were in myriad number of times available in the park and in 2002 only four species are observed by wildlife census. here, author does not present the reason why wildlife census is observing only four species and not all of them. There can be a possibility that other three species are still in numerous count. The fact that census is taking care of only four now does not make a cogent fact to talk about.

Second , there could be a less number of amphibians worldwide but author does not give statistics to prove how much they have reduced and what was the number before. there can be a drastic plummet in count of amphibians worldwide but in Xanadu National Park count can be same as before. Without any proper data nothing can be said effectively.

Third, author asserts that trout are the predators of amphibians. Park has brought them in the facility in 1975 and since then the count of the amphibians is reducing - trout eat amphibian eggs. It's seems logical to say that trout is the reason of reduction in amphibians count but it is highly possible that amphibians are transferred to another national park or somewhere else. Without any solid reason we cannot directly say that trout is the main reason. Also, author does not mention the number of eggs an amphibians can lay at a time, if the count is very large like tow to three thousand or may be more, eating only two or three eggs does not effect on amphibian count. furthermore, we don't know many many eggs live during the normal life cycle of an amphibian. Author does not corroborate this fact with proper information.

In summary, author does not provide any statistics, figure , chart or other information to substantiate his claim. Also, he generalizes a small this on large scale and fail to discuss and consider other reasons for the depletion in the count of amphibians. Without any proper cause and effect, logic provided does not work in persuasion of the argument.