The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

National park has various forms of wildlives. Animals are sheltered and protected in national parks. Almost every living being are important for the balance of ecological system. However, the global warming and other risk posing factors like deforestation, air/water pollution have caused risk to the wildlives. The given premises are valid; however, they are incomplete and need further deliberate study to come up with a more tenable, valid, reliable conclusion. The argument, put forth in here, is rife with holes and fallacious assumptions.

The decline in the number of amphibian species and the number of each species in the Xanadu National park could be misleading. To count the amphibian number, the author could have visited the sites that are not generally inhabited by them. The author might have surveyed a smaller area that could not represent the whole national park. The time of study to count the amphibian species could not be proper as they could have been under hibernation during that period of time. So, nothing has been mentioned by the author regarding the time and sample area of study.

Additionally, it should be noted that the trout which were introduced in 1975 might have died; there might be no trout at the moment. Without knowing the current existence of trout, the author has held them responsible for reduction in amphibian numbers. For example, perhaps there are other forms of lives in the national park that feed upon amphibians.

The author assumes that trout is responsible for the declining number of amphibians. Without any clear evidence, the author has attributed the decreasing number and species of amphibians to trout, which, perhaps, might not have eaten the eggs. Had the author contemplate on the effect of other factors like water/ air pollution, global warming on the survival of amphibians egg, he would have come across with other aspects of decreasing amphibian population. The predators might have fed upon the fully developed adult amphibians.