The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

An individual character is a valuable asset. People always expect propriety behavior from others. One possesses typical qualities (both positive behavior and negative behavior) that they inherit from very childhood. I agree with the first half of the statement and but can’t agree with the second half. We should cultivate decorous characters in children, praise positive actions and not simply ignoring their bad behavior, but rather instructing them how they are wrong and what people expect them to do in such scenario.

In our childhood, parents are our first teachers who teach us all the moral, social norms. They teach us everything right from uttering inchoate words to how we should behave to others. If they find us doing disruptive things or committing inappropriate behaviors ”What they do?”. They tell us how our behaviors are not good, what consequences it is going to have. They instruct so clearly to make sure that these mistakes will not happen again. For example, if a child is found playing carelessly near the road side, then parents tell him/her not to play as passing by vehicles might hurt you and you will feel pain. So, that things will stuck in our mind and we never do that thing again.

Furthermore, what if a child exhibiting inappropriate behavior is just ignored? He would never come to know what is wrong or right. And he will continue doing the same things. For example, one of my friend always bites his nail, which, as per him, acquired right from his childhood. His parents just ignored this behavior rather than discouraging him to do such things by telling him the negative consequences that can cause to the health.

Some people might argue that there is nothing wrong to ignore negative characters provided you praise the positive actions. They opine that praising positive actions by giving them tangible or intangible things keep encouraging them to show same behavior. If positive actions are encouraged, even the one who is showing negative traits later on will be motivated to behave well. Undoubtedly, it is to be noted that praising positive actions will act as an impetus to further correct the characters of both good behaving and badly behaving child; however, simply ignoring without educating your child about bad behavior will not stop your child to repeat same things in near future.

In conclusion, of course, every parents, teachers should instill morally good characters in their child by praising them for the positive characters they show; however, if children happen to commit negative beviour, they should not be just ignored. Ignoring such things might motivate the children to do even more wrongdoings in later stages, and also they might not understand “is it really the bad thing they are doing”.