Last week, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further.

Of course, the saving rather than wasting any is like gaining profit. The modification to the showerheads – to restrict the flow of water- in first three buildings of Sunnyside Towers will result in saving of water, which in turn results significant savings. But the water usage in the Sunnyside Towers might not merely be due to showering purpose; there could be a plenitude of reasons of maximum water usage. Although the given premises are valid, it is needed to conduct further more deliberate survey to come to even more tenable, valid, and reliable conclusions. The argument presented here is rife with full of holes and fallacious assumptions.

The author should have explored other means by which more water could have been utilized. Although water may be saved by restricting water flow of showerheads, it is not necessary that with the same strategy replicating in other 9 buildings of Sunnyside Towers, water can be saved in the same way. For example, there could be myriads of causes of maximum water usage like excessive flushing, leakage from the water pipes.

Although there is no any complaint from the 3 buildings, there could be complaints from other 9 buildings, if water flow is restricted. Firstly, the author needs to survey other buildings in order to find out the reason for maximum water utilization; should it deem necessary to restrict flow at showerheads, the author must consult with the residents first.

The author assumes that the same measure of restricting water flow will result profits through water saving in other building as achieved in first three buildings. Along with this assumption is the presumption that, without clear evidence, restricting water flow will reduce water utilization to one-third. Not only will showers lead to maximum water utilization, but there are also some other specifics that will increase consumption or wastages. So, without considering other factors, the author should not guarantee the outcome.

More specifics need to be studied meticulously to back up the argument. Should the author study it from broad perspective, he will come across more other important avenues that can significantly reduce the consumption of water and ultimately a greater savings. There is no clear evidence in the argument that restricting water flow at the showerheads only in all twelve buildings will increase profits. For this reason, the author needs to conduct a more detailed, valid, and reliable study to come up with well-developed plausible assumptions and conclusion.