"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are n

The argument claims that reducing the maximum water flow to its one-third would help Sunnyside Corporation to increase savings and would be able to earn higher profits if the same methodology is further applied to all the twelve buildings in the complex. Stated in this way,the argument manipulates fact and conveys a distorted view of position. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions which clearly reflects signs of poor reasoning. Below mentioned are reasonable points that would help understand my disagreement.

Firstly, the basic fault in the argument is that it mistakens the decrement in the water flow for the reduced usage of water. If a person needs five buckets of water in a day, then decreasing the water flow does not make the person only two buckets of water. Infact, this method will become a difficulty for the person as he has to wait for longer period of time to fill up the bucket. Therefore, the basis of the argument is faulty and hence any conclusion build over such claim would not be stand in the long run.

Secondly, the argument emphasizes on increased savings without either taking the the readings nor the bills into account. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. For instance, if the argument provided with proper evidence regarding the bills of water usage before and after the adjustment, we could have made a comparison and conclude whether the profit made is considerable or not.

Finally, the claim does not give clarity on the number of complaints they encountered. It vaguely says that they were "few" in number. However, it could vary from two to fifty depending on the number of residents in the society and if fifty people, lets say, are facing problems with lower water flow then it could not be ignored and any aim to reduce water flow should be discarded. Hence, only if information regarding the number of people facing problems is given, we could have landed on the firm acknowledgement of the conclusion.

In conclusion, the Sunnyside Corporaion's mindset to apply the same technique to all the twelve buildings without firm evidence of the outputs in the earlier three buildings can prove to dangerous as then the number of complaints will definitely reach its peak. Ultimately, there is a clear possibility that the Corporation has to revert back to adjusting the water flow to the original level. This would lead to ignominy and distrust towards corporation. Therefore, the argument should provide with more evidences in order to validate the conclusion.