The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that a greater share of its budget should be allocated by the Super Screen next year for advertising in order to spread awareness among the public that the movie-content produced is of good quality. However, the recommendation would not produce the desired results as expected because the claim on which it is made is clearly flawed and devoid of shreds of evidence.

To commence with, the argument itself clearly states that the number of people attended Super Screen-produced movies are fewer current year than in any other year. Consequently, the number of viewers reviewing the movie is less this year. Making a judgement that the percentage of positive reviews are higher this year is incomparable with other year's data as one can compare the percentage only when the number of people is consistent in both the year. Hence, the argument is clearly flawed.

Secondly, the argument claims that due to the lack of dissemination of their work, they are not getting previews holding the fact that people are unaware of their content. While the claim can be true, it lacks the proper evidence to consider the assumption that people are unaware. The advertising director makes a correlation between the number of people aware of their content and people giving the review which is unsubstantial. For instance, not all individuals fill the feedback book when they visit any restaurant, this does not mean they are not aware of the quality of food. Only if the argument with some evidence, it can be considered as a factor towards the final result of the recommendation.

Furthermore, the recommendation that allocation of a greater budget with certainly contribute to increase in people reviewing the movie is unconvincing and weak.

In summary, the recommendation could be expected to bring desired results only if the argument has provided with proper pieces of evidence. Making a statement that will produce the desired results on the basis of assumptions has no legs to stand on and will definitely leads to failure