The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company is preocupied predominantly with the observed trend of a decline in attendance at the companie's movies over the past year. The director suggests that in order to boost attendance, the company ought to allocate a greater share of the budget allocated to advertising. While that may seem logical at first glance, a deeper analysis of the situation reveals that further information is required to support this recommendation.

Turning to the first question, the memo omits key facutal information in regards to the concerning trend of declining attendance at the companies movies. First of all, we must ascertain how large of a decline the production company is experiencing, for if it is rather small, it may not outweigh an increase in resources invested in advertising. If the reduction in attendance is significantly impacting the company's profits, it would then be useful to know if this is a problem facing the market more broadly. With the rising popularity of platforms for viewing movies online in one's home, such as Netflix and Amazon, it is quite possible that these declines are not unique to this production company, but a trend afflcting the entire industry. If that is the case, the production company may have to consider how to address a deeper issue of cultural shifts away from seeing movies in theaters.

It is surprising that the director does not address the second implicit question: why is the percentage of positive reiews by movie reviewers increasing? If this second observed trend is the basis for the director's recommendation, it merits further exploration and analysis. If the group of individuals reviewing the movies is somehow characteristically different than the average movie going population, then advertising those reviews more widely would do little to enhance the production company's popularity with the general public. For instance, let us suppose the reviewers are afficionados of independent films, whereas most movie viewers these days prefer action films.

Finally, the recommendation would be much better informed by an analysis of current advertising efforts. Perhaps the company is simply targeting a demographic that is not likely to be swayed or is using messaging that is not compelling to that audience. It is quite plausible that advertising could be improved without an budgetary increase through means such as increasing precision. If the company funneled more funds towards an advertising campaign that was not reaching a key audience, it would be of little impact.

Overall, the director's claim begs questions concerning the observed trends of a decrease in attendance, an increase in positive reviews, and the nature of current advertising efforts. It would therefore be ill-advised to adopt the proposal put forth in this memo without first ascertaining the answers to those key lines of inquiry.