The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

There has long been a pedagogical debate concerning the most effective way to promote desirable student behavior and discourage undesirable behavior. Positive reinforcement is the most effective strategy to create a classroom where everyone each student feels empowered to be a successful learner. This approach is more beneficial than punishing negative actions both for the individual student acting out, and the class as a whole.

By ignoring negative behavior, the teacher sends a signal that such disruptions do not warrant a reaction. When students behave poorly in the classroom setting, they are often seeking to get the attention of the teacher and/or their classmates. Refusing to acknowledge that behavior therefore deprives the student of the reward they were seeking, encouraging them to find alternative means of getting attention. If the teacher consistently praises good behavior, the student will quickly learn instead to adopt those modes of conducting themself. Furthermore, if a student who does not see themselves as "good at math," for example, starts receiving positive reinforcement when the perform well and their negative performance is ignored, they may begin to construe a new identity for themselves as a competent math student.

This approach is not only addresses the root cause of the problem for the individual seeking attention, but also benefits the entire class. When negative behavior receives negative attention, no student can learn during that period in which the power struggle and resulting discipline is carried out. If the teacher instead ignores the bad behavior, they prevent the disruption from taking place. The result is an atmosphere not only free of disruptions, but where students are collectively motivated to act positively.

The more conventional approach to classroom management relies on the assumption that in order to deter poor behavior, the teacher must directly punish that behavior. While that may seem logical in theory, it is rarely effective in practice. Traditional punishments are often completely unrelated to the behavior itself. For example, if a student interrupts the teacher inappropriately, they are often sent to the principal's office. The message conveyed is that if a student disrupts the class, they will be relieved of the obligation of having to participate in the class, which may in fact be seen as a reward by that student. If that action is ignored but the student is praised for making a positive contribution, such as answering a question posed to the class, they learn to directly connect positive behavior with positive attention.

In conclusion, relying on positive reinforcement alone can result in improved behavioral outcomes and learning opportunities for both the struggling student and the class as a whole. This strategy of classroom management is supremely effective because it saves the teacher the time of disciplining students and frees up that energy for them to focus on conveying the subject matter content.