Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporations have tremendous impacts upon the societies and environments in which they operate. While legal frameworks, such as the National Environmental Protection Act, are in place to mitigate potential negative impacts of commerical operations, such regulations often do not ensure that local citizens and ecosystems are fully compensated. Therefore, corporations have an additional responsibility to actively promote the well-being of the local commnity and environment.

One example of an industry that recognizes this additional responsbilitiy is the fossil fuel industry. Many large oil and gas corporations create foundations to give grants to projects that remediate environmental degradation. This move marks an appropriate acknowledgement of pernicious effects of their activities on local environments, even if they are in full compliance with environmental regulations. Take hydraulic fracturing as an example. Companies engaging "fracking" consume public resources, such as massive amounts of water for pumping, on public lands, for private gains. Local communities bear the burden of the environmental costs if wastewater injection contaminates the aquifer, if their wells run dry due to excessive groundwater pumping or or if the incidence of earthquakes increase, as has been shown to be the case in Oklahoma. Even if reparations are made for these damages, they cannot reverse the damage already done to local livelihoods and ecosystems. It is therefore important that these companies acknowledge that they will not be able to prevent or fully mitigate every impact and therefore must proactively seek to enhance regional environmental quality.

Another example of how corporations have recognized this responsibility is that most major law firms offer pro-bono services to individuals or groups who would otherwise be unable to afford legal representation. These law firms offer their services free of charge because they recognize the value of supporting underrepresnted or marginalized sectors of society.

One could argue that promoting the well-being of societies and environments is not the responsibility of any corporation. Their reasoning may be that corporations already benefit society by paying taxes. Another line of reasoning could be that, that if companies are allowed to maximize profits rather than devote resources to "corporate social responsibility" the wealth they generate will "trickle down" to the lowest earners in society. However, the issue with both of those lines of logic is that the benefits are too indirect. The local citizen living in an area that is undergoing negative change due to the operations of a company is unlikely to directly feel the impacts of the increased federal government revenue or trickle down economics nearly as immediately as the feel the impacts of the activities themselves.

In conlusion, corporations have the responsibility to actively contribute to the quality of life and the environmental quality of the communities in which they operate. Maximizing profits fails to confer direct benefits sufficient to offset a corporations negative impacts on the local environment.