The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp bases asserts that Dr. Field's findings that children were reared by an entire village as invalid due to evidence Dr. Karp collected to the contrary. However, in order to evaluate the relative accuracy of the data collected, further description of the two methdological approaches is necessary.

First, Dr. Karp alleges that the observational approach writ large is ineffective. Given the lack of additional context, we can only assume Dr. Karp is basing that off a sample size of one: Dr. Field's study. In order to make a convincing case that this methodology is inherently flawed, and not just its implementation in one discrete study, Dr. Karp must provide evidence of other observational anthropological studies that have later been conclusively proven inaccurate.

Second, Dr. Karp claims that the interview method is more accurate than the observational approach. In order to evaluate that claim, the reader needs to know how the interviews were conducted. It is possible that Dr. Karps interviews only included questions about biological parents, which bias the answers of the children towards discussing those parental figures at the exclusion of others who reared them. Furthermore, Dr. Karp claims this method is more accurate for understanding all island cultures. In order to give credence to that claim, evidence suggesting the transferability of interview techniques across cultures is required.

Moreover, in order to evaluate the relative efficacy of the two methodologies for the purposes of understanding this cultural phenomenon, child rearing must be explicitly defined. If someone who has the greatest responsibility for rearing children is simply the individual who spends the greatest number of hours with that child, then the observational method would be the most appropriate one to measure that aspect of culture. If however rearing is defined as shaping the personality, behavior, and values of an individual, it is possible that some individuals may have an influence that is disproportional to the amount of time spent with the child. In that case, the interview method may glean more relevant information.

Overall, much more evidence is required to substantiate Dr. Karp's argument that Dr. Field's conclusion regarding child-rearing traditions on Tertia are invalid, and that the interviews are methodologically superior to observations to arrive at this cultural understanding. Notably, a definition of key terms, a description of the methodogies being compared, and further context regarding the cultures of the regions under study is largely absent.