The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Encouragement is the key to effective teaching. Who doesn't like praises? Everyone loves being applauded and praised for whatever tasks they do on a day to day basis, be it at home or at work. But ignoring the negative actions isn't really "teaching" them anything.

A child for instance who is taught at school by teachers, is praised when he scores good by the end of the year with rewards like a round of applause in the class or by calling him on the stage and awarding a trophy. The mere sense of seeing his classmate and friends clapping for him or cheering his name in front of everyone makes him so happy. Similarly, when children who see him receiving so much appreciation, they too get motivated and tend to work hard for reaching the same position one day. The teachers simply encourage all the children by praising their positive actions and efforts that the give into achieving a great score. Same goes out to students who excel in other fields like tabla, dance, art, etc. Children are also made to learn good habits at home like brushing every night before sleeping, washing hands before eating, respecting their elders, saying words like thank you and sorry when needed and are praised when they do so. A dog for instance, is also is taught on similar lines. You have to give him treats for all his good behavior and obedience. Same goes for an employee at work who is praised with promotions/bonus when he performs well at a given tasks.

But this never means that their mistakes are ignored. You pay for wrong answers by loss of marks, mistakes made while performing a dance or playing an instrument- pointing out the faults so that the student corrects it the next time they perform. So negative actions are pointed out so that the child can really learn something new everyday. Dog is pointed out with his mistakes so that he learns from them. Even employers give one on ones to their employees so that they can understand negative actions and correct them in the future. All this accounts to shaping a good human being day by day and this merely is the essence of teaching.