The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument convinces the reader to make sense out of it if read in one go. However upon a close observation, we can spot a few loopholes in the same. It takes into account 2 realty owners Adams and Fitch and compares their work on disparate basis.

It starts talking about superiority in terms of the number of persons employed by the two. It compares the number of real estate agents and also states that fitch has few agents working only as part time. Further it states that Adams average revenue is double than that of fitch's. But does it ever mention the year of origination of both the companies? What if Adam is in the real estate business since say 25 years and fitch came like 5-10 years later ? Also, there is not much difference in the average value of the homes sold between the two as stated above and keeping in mind that Fitch has less no of agents, it might be a smaller firm in terms of capital and is still trying to match up to Adams average sale, is commendable. Hence we cannot really compare the two on such grounds.

Going forward the given argument, the most unrealistic comparison is listing your house with Adams as it sells faster than Fitch's. This is so abysmal because the author of this argument had listed one of his house for sale ten years ago with Fitch and next house for sale last month with Adams. Ten years is a lot of time in an industry. A lot changes in ten years. What if ten years ago was the time when Fitch was new in the real estate? Or what if Fitch was going through hard times(like low on number of employees or yet to establish reputation) during the time when the author wanted to sell his house? Hence, such a statement is absolutely absurd your house sells faster with Adams and that Adams fetch you a good price for your house as the author never tried to list his second house with Fitch to see the results as of today.

Hence it is just no grounds to compare the two as per this argument. However, if the author would have compared the two companies performance, as of today, this argument would be more persuasive in nature.