As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

The argument claims that new dormitories are to be built in order to accommodate the expected enrolled students over the next fifty years. Further, the director of student housing also assumes that prospective students will more like to enrol at Buckingham for low-cost attractive dormitories. Stated in this way, the argument reveals examples of poor reasoning and leap of faith. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that Buckingham's enrollment will double over the next fifty years in accordance with current growth trends. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. For example, there might be a possibility that over a period of a decade or two many new or other coexisting colleges flourish and therefore the number of students enrolling at Buckingham will certainly decrease. Moreover, the argument does not provide any raw data for the "current trends" of enrollment, that is at what rate the students are admitting over the years. The argument could have been cogent if it considered a shorter span of time like a decade and provided some absolute values for the previous years data of enrollment.

Secondly, the argument states that affording to house off campus will be arduous as the average rent for an apartment has proliferated in recent years. This is again very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate the correlation between the subsequent years' town's housing prices and future housing prices of campus. The director provides no evidence for the increase in housing prices in recent years and it is probable that the increase is not significant and there is certainly no proof that guarantees the accretion of prices for the next fifty years. Neither the statement provides with the housing rates of on-campus and off-campus apartments. Hence, the claim again proves to have no legs to stand.

Finally, the author claims that attractive dormitories will make prospective students enrol more likely. Attractive dormitories could only be a minor factor in deciding a college and as the author thinks of building more hostels there is a possibility that they would not be spacious enough and hence the whole concept of more admission goes in vain.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and it's therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the director mentioned all the relevant details of current enrollment trends of Buckingham college as well as other competing colleges, housing rates of both on campus and off campus apartments and space available for building new dormitories. In order to assess the merits of a certain decision, it is essential to have knowledge of all contributing factors. As a result, the decision of building new dormitories for the accommodation of students keeping the next fifty years in mind is abrupt and unsubstantial.