In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your re

Any form of art is the respective artist's imagination and is not restricted to any boundaries and frameworks. Consequently, the factors responsible to decide a particular art form to fall in merit is wide-ranging and obscure. Considering the understanding of people regarding an artwork as the only basis of merit is quite narrow and unsubstantial.

To commence upon with, it is not necessary that popularity and comprehension by the public are the only yardsticks to rate an art form. Artists from Van Gogh to Picasso, literary progenies like Jane Austen and Franz Kafka, musical maestros like Bach and Ray Charles are acknowledged quite late of their time. However, this does not mean that their work was any less. Art is timeless and eternal and will inspire and connect to people if not today then tomorrow.

Furthermore, art is an abstract form and is not bounded by the barriers of language, culture, expertise, and physical handicaps. Music of wizards like Bach and Mozart are used as therapies for the alternate treatment of mentally handicapped people. It is quite plausible that the people taking therapies might not be aware of the technicalities, lyrics of the music but the tempo, rhythm, etc are just perfect to bring the ameliorative effect. Similarly, Sufi songs are heard worldwide though might not know the meaning of its lyrics, it brings the desired placid effect. Therefore, art is as boundary-less as it is eternal.

However, where art can transcend boundaries and let people rejuvenate, in a similar fashion it can reach out to people and can be the cause of social change. But for that, the art form should be comprehensible and consonant with the majority of people. For instance, many protests involve a poster or an anthem to fight against. In India, Vande Mataram song was written by Rabindranath Tagore in order for the arousal of patriotism in the people of the country to fight against the colonialists. Hence, good art can educate and create empathy and empathy can be used to bring change.

In summary, complete understanding and acknowledgment by a large number of people cannot themselves decide the merit of an art form. For art is eternal, boundless and abstract in nature, can be recognized in merit based upon a single factor. Art is powerful and brings the freedom of expression with itself. With proper execution, art can bring changes to the life of most vulnerable groups of the society.