The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Giving the complexity of defining well-being of a citizen, there are innumerous factors that should be taken into account for scaling the efficacy of a country’s leader. For instance, high employment rates, access to affordable health care, good educational system, security from invasion by enemies and reasonable inflation rates are few of the factors that directly or indirectly impact the welfare of the citizens. In that context, the view that the effectiveness of a country’s leader is best measured by examining the well-being of that country’s citizen is too extreme due to “all or nothing” impression it gives. Moreover, since the well-being of a human is subjective, I cannot completely agree with the claim.

To begin with, it is the leaders who propose all economic, political, cultural and social policies directly affecting the people’s life. How well their citizens live, therefore, is the direct result of these policies. The policies, in turn, reflect the effectiveness of the leaders’ working. For example, the current prime minister of India, Narendra Modi, brought up programs like cleanliness movement, infrastructure development, and vocational training programs and many others that have helped Indian citizens to prosper.

However, the effectiveness of a leader is not only limited to the development of people and providing them with the access to a good life but also to protect the historical monuments and to preserve the legacy and cultural traditions of our predecessors. Each country, in fact, each region in this world has evolved over a period of time and has developed its own set of beliefs and customs. It is the responsibility of the leader to take care of these characteristics to truly qualify as a good leader.

In addition to the above point, a leader should also take into account the care of biological diversity and wildlife. Extinction of several species will lead to an imbalance in the ecological system which will indirectly impact the lives of human beings. Similarly, measures should be taken to control the increasing pollution as it affects the ozone layer and ultimately leads to global warming, floods due to melting glaciers and acid rains and therefore, impacting people’s lives. Hence, focus on environmental concerns will also contribute in evaluating the leader’s performance.

In conclusion, one can appreciate the credo expressed in this instance, but surely one cannot rely on the potential error of following it to the extreme.