In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your re

Any form of art is the respective artist's imagination and is not restricted to any boundaries and frameworks. Consequently, the factors responsible to decide a particular art form to fall in merit is wide-ranging and obscure. Considering the understanding of people regarding an art work as the only basis of merit is quite narrow and unsubstantial.

To commence upon with, it is not necessary that popularity and comprehension by public are the only yardsticks to rate an art form. Artists from Van Goah to Picasso, literary progenies like Jane Austen and Franz Kafka, musical maestros like Bach and Ray Charles are acknowledged quite late of their time. However, this does not mean that their work were any less. Art is timeless and eternal and will inspire and connect to people if not today then tomorrow.

Furthermore, art is an abstract form and is not bounded by the barriers of language, culture, expertise and physical handicaps. Music of wizards like Bach and Mozart are used as therapies for alternate treatment of mentally handicapped people. It is quite plausible that the people taking therapies might not be aware about the technicalities, lyrics of the music but the tempo, rhythm, etc are just perfect to bring the ameliorative effect. Similarly, sufi songs are heard world wide though might not know the meaning of its lyrics, but it brings the desired placid effect. Therefore, art is as boundary-less as it is eternal.

However, where art can transcend boundaries and let people rejuvenate, in a similar fashion it can reach out to people and can be the cause of social change. But for that, the art form should be comprehensible and consonant with majority of people. For instance, many protests involve a poster or an anthem to fight against. In India, Vande Matram song was written by Rabindranath Tagore in order for arousal of patriotism in the people of the country to fight against the colonialsts. Hence, good art can educate and create empathy and empathy can used to bring change.

In summary, complete understanding and acknowledgement by large number of people cannot themselves decide the merit of any art form. For art is eternal, boundless and abstract in nature, can be recognized in merit based upon a single factor. Art is powerful and brings the freedom of expression with itself. With proper execution, art can bring changes to the life of most vulnerable groups of the society.