Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions are a platform to spread knowledge and to nurture students to the best of their ability. The recommendation presents a view that educational institution's job is to discourage pupils to not study fields where the probability of being successful is very low. Due to the number of loopholes present in the argument, I certainly do not agree with the claim.

To commence with, for an institution to predict which field will help a particular person succeed is unreasonable. An educator cannot take decisions regarding the career which will make the student successful as there are myriad factors to take into consideration. These include field of study, and most importantly, the honesty of student towards the subject, their dedication, their intelligence quotient, and their level of practice. These all directly or indirectly in the success of the student. For instance, during admissions into college for under-graduation, most engineering institutes advised to pursue computer science as it is at its peak in the market. However, after completion of the course, many pupils were not satisfied with their education as they did not find computer programming very interesting. Hence, those students were not as successful as they could be if they have opted for subjects of their interest. Thereafter, choosing study field based on someone else's disposition might not lead into student's favor.

Secondly, dissuading students from pursuing fields of study of their choice also leads to demotivation and loss of inner-belief. With rapidly growing world, today there exist ample opportunities in every field. Additionally, unconventional job ideas are blowing people's mind and helped them reach the acme of life. Had Steve Jobs never learnt calligraphy, or his teachers told him as there is not much future in it, Apple would not have been introduced. Therefore, knowledge is an asset to the human, irrespective of its subject, it allows him or her to find a direction in life. So, discouraging a person to enrich himself or herself in a field is more of an offense.

Thirdly, on the flip side, if a student is unaware of its interest and how to proceed in life, then it is the responsibility of the educator to guide and show direction to him. For example, to quote example from my life, after class tenth, I was totally confused and had no idea whether to move ahead with biology or mathematics in high school. When I approached my teacher, she suggested to take mathematics and explained that I am not very good at cramming things but at logical thinking and henceforth will be beneficial. Consequently, my educator's explanation did help me to to achieve a good position in society today. Hence, the institution should intervene only if the student is unaware of it's interest.

In summary, I vehemently cling to the notion that schools or universities are responsible to educate students and help them seek opportunities in various fields with respect to their interests.