Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time.

Throughout history, there exists a humongous list of discoveries which were initially opposed as it stands far away from held beliefs and conventions. In that context, the claim that the truth begins as outrageous is due to the political structure of humanity where the defenders are few and the deniers are powerful. I agree with the argument that important truths begin as heinous and do attack the accepted sagacity of the time to some extent but not always.

If we look at the history of the world, we will find many examples where truth has generated commotions in the society. Different people have varied notions about the existence of God, life after death, reincarnation, etc. For instance, Pythagoras and his followers were almost religiously obsessed with numbers. One of their key doctrines was that all numbers could be expressed as the ratio of integers. So when Hippasus pointed out that the square root of two was irrational, it shocked the Pythagoreans, and they had him drowned at sea. Hence, it is very difficult to change the ideologies that are followed by the majority of people.

Similarly, people took a long time to believe that time is not constant. When Einstein showed that light was the only constant, the world thought he was crazy. These days, however, NASA has to adjust its clocks because time runs differently depending on how far you are from a source of gravity and how fast you are going. In fact, a clock at sea level ticks faster than a clock at the top of the Empire State Building. Therefore, it is important to accept new ideas and bring reforms into the society and thus adopt new ideologies otherwise it will hinder the growth of mankind.

However, with the passage of time, people are becoming more open-minded. They are ready to accept new ideas that hold enough scientific explanations and approach. Moreover, the internet is a forum which mitigates the concept of "long-held notions" to a large extent because one can evaluate the theories on their merits in open discussion, so the outrageousness has reduced in the current media climate. That's why, when it was found out that Earth is not the only planet that has water, it was calmly accepted.

In conclusion, the important truth which challenges the widely acknowledged wisdom always face oppression. Nevertheless, if there exists proper scientific explanations and approach, then they will get accepted over a period of time after facing trials.