“Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time.”

There is a tendency in all of us to exalt what we call common sense, truth, or even general wisdom as something inviolable and immutable. The most common reaction that can be expected from someone who is exposed to newly discovered fact or evidence that points in a completely different direction from what he believes in is denial and disbelief. Whether our recalcitrance to evidence that contradict our belief of what is true is a product of evolution that helped our primitive ancestors survive by precluding indecisiveness, or simply our own ego getting in the way of admitting that it is possible for us to err, its pervasiveness is undeniable.

There was once a time in which people accepted the "fact" that the earth was flat, and the sun, moon and other planets revolved around the earth. It was common sense, and even the most brilliant minds of the period believed the same, as it was simply common sense. If anyone at that period would suggest that the earth was round, what he would get in return would be ridicule and scorn. It would be good if new revolutionary ideas are met with just ridicule and scorn, but history has thought us that revealing such "inconvinient" truths would demand a much higher price from anyone who plans to do so. This, for instance, can be easily seen from what had happened to Gallileo, when he tried to let everyone know that the earth is not the center of the univerese, but the earth, like the other planets, revolve around the sun. The price that he paid for exposing the truth was his very own life.

We do not have to look at such a extreme example which evinces the isolation that someone has to bear in order to reveal something that is long regarded as wisdom, and a good example for that would be what had happened to Charles Darwin, the author of the 'Origin of Species', and the person who lay the foundations for the theory of evotution and evolution biology today as we know it. While it is known that his theory was revolutionary at his time, and it is widely accepted today, few people know that he, who was a practising Catholic, was ostracized as what he had shown contradicted the belief of a creator that created the world and all the creatures in it.

But everything is not so dark and dismal, and we have seen that although people might be hesitant to initallly accept new fact or evidences if it is against their belief of what is common sense, people and the civilization as a whole usually do come to terms with it eventually. Skepticism in small doses is indeed required as it helps keep the bad ideas away, and only the truth would be standing at the end. But it is equally important that we do not outrightly dismiss an idea, no matter how uncomfortable it may be, and should inspect it with the proof and evidence it has to offer.