Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument being made here is that the life-size clay statues are very lifelike because the statues have been created using molds of actual bodies, and not using sculpting tools and techniques. It is further argued that the lack of sculpting tools would also bolster this argument. Thus, it is predicted that the value if the miniature sculptures would increase, and the value of the life-size statues would decrease. Although the arguments being presented seems reasonable at the first glance, some important questions are to be answered if to conclude on the validity of the argument.

Firstly, it has been argued that the statues are too life-like, and the explanation to the human likeness is that the heads and hands are made using molds of actual bodies. To validate this claim, first it must be examined whether all the statues are having the same design of heads and hands, as it would be the case if it is made using the same molds. It is not reasonable to assume that a separate mold would be created to cater to each individual sculpture, and the same molds would be used to create different sculptures.

Secondly, only the molds for the head and the hands have been mentioned. Although they are important components, it the other areas like the torso, thighs, feet among others are also equally important. If the other parts of the statue are just as exquisite and lifelike as the hands and the head, and no molds are discovered for these parts, it would severely weaken the argument that no sculpting tools are techniques were employed in creating these statues.

Thirdly, it is claimed that the lack of tools points to the fact that the statue was made using molds. This claim, similar to the previous one is not substantiated with required evidence. The lack of tools might be because clay statues are very malleable, and does not require sophisticated tools to design them, and a few simple tools with the required expertise would allow the creation of the statues.

Finally, it has been predicted that the value of the life-size statues would decrease and the value of the miniature statues would increase. This again is not validated using any compelling logic or evidence. The underlying assumption being made here seems to be that people value hand made object more that ones created using molds, although true in some cases cannot be generalized, for example, even the most expensive cars are made using some kind of molds. In addition, people may even value the statue more because it is made from the molds of the actual human body, and the owners could own the likeness of an actual human being who lived during that period.

To conclude, the assumptions that the statue is made using only molds without sculpting tools and techniques has not been substantiated with the required information and evidence. Further the prediction that is being made of the increase in value of the miniature and decrease in value of the life-size statues have not been made in light of compelling reasons. So without furnishing the necessary proof, the argument being made cannot be sustained.