The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement above and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those considerations shape your position.

It is said that necessity is the mother of all inventions. Although this statement is completely valid in the days of the cave man, where innovative ideas were required to even slightly increase the chance to survive, in the modern context it would be hard to argue for the same. But still, we see that there is no lack in ingenious ideas, with a new revolutionary idea or invention becoming the front page news everyday. So the question become if not necessity, what propels people to come up with newer and better ideas? And the answer, at least to a big degree is the passionate interest in commonplace things.

Firstly, the ideation step requires to think of a problem, analyze it, and come up with a viable solution. So the question becomes, it is possible to directly jump to a complex idea, without starting from a more simple and mundane one? The answer would be that it is highly unlikely. So complex and convuled ideas cannot be tacked directly, and ideation has to start somewhere, the most likely place it will start is with a passionate interest in commonplace things.

For example, the story goes that Newton was inspired to contemplate about gravity when he saw and apply fall down a tree and thought to himself why the apply came down instead of shooting up. Although the story itself is not very credible, it is undeniable that Newton's initial venture into the profoundities of gravity would have been with simple questions like 'why does objects fall down' instead of directly trying to derive the formula for gravity. This deep passion for things which may be perceived as mundane is what invigorates people to investigate it, and come up with brilliant ideas and explanations.

In general, we observe such a phenominon permeate throughout science, because science by its nature is empirical. It pays attention to the world around us, notes interesting facts, and works towards an explanation for it that is supported by sufficient evidence. Again, the inquisitiveness and questioning must begin in more simpler and fundamental questions around us like, 'why does some animals look so similar to each other, but still has noticable differences according to its habitat?', and the answer to this question is evolution. Even the ancient greek philosophers and scientists like Aristotel, Plato and others conducted their investigations based on the their deep passion to understand the nature, and to know why things are the way they are.

To conclude, it is clear that deep passion and interest in commonplace things can be the fuel that propels people to come up with some of the most interesting, innovative and revolutionary ideas. Although we cannot preclude the possibility of people having a sudden epiphany or insight into some complex thoughts and ideas, the epiphany might just be the result of contemplating about a common occurence for extended period of time. Thus, we should encourage interest and inquisitiveness that people show towards seemingly insignificant day to day objects, because you never know where the next great idea is coming from.