Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that is being made by the author is that, since the woven baskets with a particular distinctive pattern was thought to be unique to the prehistoric village of Palea, and since the same distinctive patten was found in another village Lithos across the Brim River, whose depth and breadth would prevent the crossing of the Lithos people to get the basket in the absence of boats would suggest that the Lithos people had also produced the same pattern of basket. This redundancy in the pattern, the author argues, shows that the Palean basket is not unique. This argument proposed by the author makes a lot of underlying assumptions, which without sufficient evidence or substantiation would severely weaken the conclusion.

Firstly, it has been argued that the Palean basket could not be transported to the ancient LIthos villages because of the depth of the river Brim, which would make it impossible to cross on foot. But here, the underlying assumption is that the river has always been that deep and wide. This might not have been the case since climate itself is very volatile across thousands of years, and it might be the case that during that period, due to higher temperature or other contributing factors. the river was not too deep, and people were able to cross by foot. To exemplify on a shorter time scale, it is clear that several rivers that flow through the Savannah get almost completely dried up during the summers, and would be very deep and full of water during the monsoon.

Moreover, the author assumes that the lack of availability of boats from those times indicates an absence of boats altogether at that period. Again, this might not be the case at all as it is possible that the boats, due to wearing and tearing from the climatic fluctuations, coupled with an inordinate amount of time, has completely decomposed the boats, or only left behind vestiges that can no longer be identified to have once belonged to a boat. In failing to consider this possibility, the argument made by the author is further weakened.

Secondly, it is assumed that the people of Lithos have themselves weaved the basket and fails to consider the possibility of the basket to have been traded for some other goods. This would hold true is commuting between the villages was indeed possible so that such an exchange is also feasible. This again makes weakens the conclusion reached by the author on the basis of the assumption that the basket in Lithos was made by the Lithos people.

Thirdly, although it is mentioned that the two villages are in proximity, on either side of the river Brim, the exact proximity has not been mentioned. If the two villages were very close, it might suggest that it was at some point of time just one village. The division might have happened due to some family members preferring one side compared to another while the river was not too deep, and slowly when the depth of the river increased to a great extend, the families got isolated from each other.

In conclusion, it is clear that the argument being put forward by the author has not been substantiated with sufficient evidence. In addition, the underlying assumptions made by the author has no supporting evidence, and the lack of which severely weakens the final conclusion derived. In order to truly convince the validity of the claim, the author has to furnish the missing information outlined earlier, and sustantiate each and every assumption being made.