In order to save a considerable amount of money, Rockingham’s century-old town hall should be torn down and replaced by the larger and more energy-efficient building that some citizens have proposed. The old town hall is too small to comfortably accommodate the number of people who are employed by the town. In addition, it is very costly to heat the old hall in winter and cool it in summer. The new, larger building would be more energy efficient, costing less per square foot to heat and cool than the old hall. Furthermore, it would be possible to rent out some of the space in the new building, thereby generating income for the town of Rockingham.

The argument being made is that the old town hall in Rockingham is very old and energy inefficient. In addition, the size of the town hall is said to be too small to accomodate the entire count of people who are employed by the town. Another point made in favor of demolishing and reconstructing the town hall is to accomodate larger space, and then give out extra space in order to generate some passive revenue. There seems to be a lot of assumptions being made for this particular proposal, and the validity of the proposal mainly depends how well the evidence would support the assumptions.

Firstly, it has been claimed that the solution for the energy efficiency of the old town hall is to demolish the old one, and construct a new, more energy efficient one. For this to be true, first of all it has to be shown that the savings in energy during a period of time is greater than the cost of demolishing and reconstructing the town hall. The proposal fails to address this point, and hence the argument on this ground is weakened. Furthermore, if energy inefficiency is the only concern, then replacing the old heaters, coolers and other electronic equipments would be equally helpful. This will also result in a big saving in the cost of demolishion on reconstruction.

Secondly, it has been claimed that the old town hall is too small to comfortably accomodate the number of people employed by the town. Again, we find that the is a crucial piece of information missing that helps validate the strength of the assumption. It might be the case that the town hall would not be able to accomodate every single person employed by the town, but in reality, maybe only a fraction of people employed by the town actually work at the town hall at a time. For instance, the police of the particular town may be employed under the town hall, but they would be largely limited to work outside the town hall, and they would be able to work from their respective police stations.

Finallly, it has been assumed that the renovated building would have some space, and it could be rented out to get some extra income. But, it has not been made clear that after renting out the extra space, if the total space left would be smaller, equal to, or greater than the space of the old town hall. Moreover, if the requirement is only additional space, the possibility of extending the old town hall can be pursued, which would again save a lot compared to the task of reconstruction.

In conclusion, the assumptions being made in favor of the argument to tear down and replace the building has not been substantiated by adequate evidence. Without having concrete facts on some of the other underlying factors that has to be considered while making such a decision, it would not be prudent to go with the proposed argument.