People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Emotions are social being's deepest thought and how they relate to a particular thing at a particular instant of time at a particular place. Each individual have different perspectives towards life and henceforth develop different emotions. For instance, an educator might believe that a silent treatment given to a student for not obeying the instructions is far better than scolding, holding the emotion that anger only hurt student's ego whereas some other teacher would not react the same way. The statement that decisions taken on behalf of emotions as the base and justifying it later with a rational approach is inane is considerate to some extent. Taking into account the complexity of battle between heart and mind, major questions could be raised in the integrity of the issue.

To commence with, the greatest fight between the heart and mind are played by doctors, army officials, etc. If they start taking decisions with an irrational approach, they would not be able to serve the purpose they are assigned for. For instance, if the son of a police officer committed a lurid crime, what do you the think the officer should do? Should he save his very own son as their are plethora of emotions attached to his son or should he go by the rational approach and capitulate him to the police custody? If he goes for the former option, that would be injustice to the victim and his family, and cannot be justified in any case. However, duty comes before any emotion and a true police officer will choose the path that is actually right. Hence, it proves the author statement that emotions can lead to wrong decisions.

However, the forthcoming instance will prove that it is not always the case. My great grandfather served under Nazi army and was asked to shoot all of the ten innocent Jews standing in a row. His emotions cajoled him to not shoot someone who has not committed any crime and cannot live with the guilt afterwards whereas he cannot disobey the commander's order on the other hand. In such a situation, he make a quick decision and told the commander that his rifle is rusted and hence the commander refused him to shoot. This way he was free from the guilt that he would have to live with for his rest of life. Therefore, sometimes a person cannot see what is right or wrong and with no other choice has to go with his/her intuition. In cases like above, going with your gut feeling is justified as you cannot do something told by somebody which in their perspective is right.

Another view that can weaken the issue is that all rational decisions may not necessarily lead to correct solutions. I have very well experienced the case recently. In last semester, we have choices among department electives and we could opt either soft computing or management information system. Soft computing is related to artificial intelligence and is both theoretical and numerical subject whereas Management Information system is a pure theoretical subject. I would love to opt for soft computing as been learning in the field from the beginning and the other subject I have no interest in. Eventually, I got to know from seniors that teachers in the not-so-likeable subject teach pretty well and reward with good grades however that is not the case with soft computing. Therefore, I end up opting a subject which I just need to study because country like mine give preference to marks. Rationally thinking this decision would help me obtain higher score but the winds not always sail in your direction. Hence, some decisions, no matter taken how meticulously, can do produce unfavourable conclusions.

In conclusion, no one can assure the result of a decision no matter taken rationally or irrationally. The life is too uncertain and too unreliable to prove the integrity of decision. One should go with the thing what one feels to be right in its pristine form, keeping no relations, no duty, no fear in mind. Once taken a decision, have faith in yourself and be prepared to dace its ramifications.