In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

The author of the argument claims that Prunty County should undertake the same kind of road improvement project as taken by Butler County to reduce the number of accident instead of reducing the speed limit. As per acknowledging the Butler County conclusion, the method appears vague and totally unfruitful. Furthermore, there are any too many loopholes in the entire argument that need to take into consideration for proper evaluation of the problem.

Firstly, the argument does not provide any computational data statistics for the number of accidents occurred before and after the implementation of speed limit change methodology, and how of many of them tried to exceed the speed limit. Had we have the data for the number of number of accidents occurred at speed limit 55 miles per hour out of total vehicles that crossed the highway to number of accidents occurred at speed limit 45 miles per hour out of total vehicles that crossed the highway, we could have compared the two and could reach to a sound result.

Secondly, the argument claims that Prunty County should apply the same method as the Butler County to decrease the number of accidents. Nonetheless, without proper evidence regarding the condition and texture of the roads, we can not arrive a proper conclusion. There is a possibility that the roads are already in better condition and does not need further improvement and implication of penalties could be a better solution. Another possibility is that the roads are across a mountainous region or passes through a tunnel where there is no scope of increasing the lane width. Hence, without proper awareness regarding the situation of roads, commenting any method to decrease the accidents is unsubstantial.

Thirdly, the claim clearly states that the Butler County's roads have been renovated five years ago and the information after what happened for the next four years is missing and still the reduction has reached only up to 25 percent which is not quite appreciable. There is a humongous scope that there could be better ways to attain the desired result.

In summary, the entire claim is full of loopholes and surely unconvincing and weak.