"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Generally the percentage of water that runs waste in an open tap and specifically a shower head is huge.Therefore the reduction in the flow rate of water is very beneficial. It not only helps the Sunnyside Towers monetarily but will also them curb excess water wastage.

There are a few factors that have to be considered for the prediction to be true. A consensus on how much of water is used for various activities such as cooking, drinking, bathing and toiletry must be taken. Only this will give a clear picture of the area wherein lies the maximum water utilisation. If the maximum water utilisation is for cooking and drinking purposes, then reducing the flow rate may not have a huge impact on the profits.

Also if the pressure in the water head is very low, it may lead to dissatisfaction among the residents which might ultimately drive the management to restore or increase the water pressure.

The nature of residents and their occupancy patterns of the residents may influence the effect of changing the water pressure. If a huge proportion of residents stay at home, it might naturally drive up the water usage and the solution may not contribute much towards increasing the profits. The scenario might be totally different in the case that maximum number of residents are office goers. This would mean that a lot of them would not be home for at least 9 hours and their water requirements would be smaller considerably.

Thus providing all the above factors are analysed properly and are found to be favourable, the Sunnyside corporation would be able to mitigate wastage of water and at the same time reap huge profits on their water bills.