When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

The argument has a few loop holes and assumptions making the entire premise baseless.

For one, the benchmarking on the number of people visiting both the parks are done differently. At Stanley Park, an estimate of number of cars is used to account for the number of people visiting the park. To compare it with Carlton Park fairly, an approximate count of the people must be used. This is because each car can have a capacity of 2-10 people depending on the model and the argument does not consider if the cars that visit the park have multiple or single occupancy.

Secondly, the recordings of the number of cars in Stanley Park shows the average over an entire month where as for Carlton Park the count is considered only on Weekdays. This might be the reason that the statistics is skewed in favour of Carlton Park. Being located in an area with a lot of business’ running, the Carlton Park might be crowded more on weekdays than weekends. It is possible that people visit the park for a short time to take a break from their busy schedule at office and relax. Since offices are shut down on weekends there may be a dearth of people visiting the Carlton Park.

Thirdly, the assumption that people visit the Carlton Park majorly due to the seating facilities available is wrong. Though it is a nice advantage for people visiting the park to sit, relax and socialize, it is not a driving factor for people visiting the park.

Therefore it can be concluded that just by introducing seating arrangements will not augment the number of people visiting the Stanley Park.