Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Nature is flush with all the amenities required by mankind to thrive and survive. Starting from food, clothing and the wood used for making houses,all of it is derived from nature. It is very important to maintain the balance in environment for the very existence of our species. Through the ages we have seen that not only plants but even animals assist humans survive. Primary sources of food come from both plants and animals. Thus, we should try to help as many endangered plants and animals as possible from becoming extinct.

An ecosystem survives only when all its members coexist in a balanced manner. If there is a shift in even one constituent, it will cause the entire system to go haywire. For example, in a basic food chain, a frog eats insects, snakes eat frogs, mongoose kill snakes and scavengers feed on dead mongooses. If in the above food chain, any of the animals are taken out of the equation, the preceding animal will have a population explosion leading to the disruption of the natural working of an ecosystem.

Many endangered species are found to have a huge benefit for humans. Some plant varieties have great medicinal value which might be lost if it becomes extinct.There are surveys which bring to our notice that utter chaos will persist in the world, if bees are to become extinct. If the extinction of a small insect such as a bee has such a profound impact, it is hard to imagine the effect on the world should all the endangered species become extinct.

The other side of the coin drives us to think that the extinction of a certain few species is a natural evolutionary process. Once a particular plant or animal variety has outgrown its adaptable mechanisms to survive, it is marked for extinction. If dinosaurs had not become extinct , it would have never paved way for the evolution of birds and thereby of reptiles , mammals and eventually humans. Therefore not always is an extinction earmarked for disaster.

Therefore a careful investigation into the importance of the endangered species is required. This will enable us to correctly identify the key players in our ecosystem and help them sustain. A lethargic attitude towards saving our ecosystem is as good as banishing ourselves from the face of the Earth.