Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

The first role models and heroes of young children many a time happen to be their teachers. The art of nurturing and guiding young talents especially in an academic arena is a huge responsibility for teachers. At times, their job involves guiding students on moral responsibilities as well. Though the intention of the management might be to encourage teachers to perform better by penalizing them on the basis of academic performances, it might be counterproductive.

Each batch of students come with a myriad of characteristics and talents. Some might be academically inclined while others may be artistic or exhibit great athletic skills. It is not possible for every student to have an inclination to study. The class that performs best are always where both the students and the teacher are in symphony with each other.

Judging a teacher solely based on ranking in academic performance is biased and unreasonable. For example, under a particular teacher the students might have bettered their understanding and performances compared to their previous results. They may not score the highest but the improvement in their scores might suggest the calibre of the teacher. On the other hand there might be a naturally good performing class and the teacher may not really have had a role to play in their amazing performance in the examinations. Therefore a holistic approach in appraising the teachers must be avoided.

The knowledge imparted by a teacher is at par only when it is done with passion and with the intent to help students to understand the subject. When a teacher is adjudged solely on the basis of the end results, it might create a pressure on them to achieve targets. It creates a shift in their teaching paradigm. They might be forced to change the method they teach which might shift focus from teaching for the sake of teaching to teaching for self-conceited gains.

A factor that needs to be considered is if academic performances are taken into account, who would be responsible for setting the question papers to test the students. It would be jocular if the teachers are graded on the basis of the papers set by themselves. There are high possibilities that they may indulge in unfair practices such as limiting the portion of study, setting some fairly easy questions for the students to answer etc. Only if there is some board or committee who is responsible for conducting the examinations, the performances of the students can be used to denote the capability of the teachers.

All the above factors lead to a conclusion that it is best not to appraise teachers on the basis of academic performances of their students.