"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Ever since the industrial revolution, the usage of metals as raw materials has been on a rise. These metals are generally mined from the ground and is accompanied by a huge amount of pollution and environmental hazards.

The letter to the editor on copper mining in West Fredonia has several underlying assumptions. For one, the CCC had acquired the land atleast a year prior to the date of the letter. One year is a sufficient period of time to investigate the ill-effects of the copper mining done by the company. Yet, there seems to be no serious allegations against the company regarding environmental hazards committed by them. Even the letter states or assumes an impending pollution that can be caused due to mining and is not clear about the present status.

The letter does not precisely mention the location of the land acquired.The land that may not even be in the vicinity of a forest or wildlife sanctuary that is home to the endangered species mentioned in the letter. This might actually may not be a huge cause of concern in terms of harming the natural habitat of the animals.

The letter does not state clearly about the customers of CCC. There is no mention whether CCC supplies the copper to West Fredonian markets or whether it sells it internationally. Expecting an international market to abandon copper purchase from CCC due to environmental hazards is impractical.

Thus, careful evaluation of each of the above factors will help in concluding whether the mining activity carried out by CCC should be brought to a standstill or allowed to continue.