Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

A society does not run on a single line of thought. There are multiple threads that tie a society together. Each person in a society might have different aspirations and expectations. Therefore it is difficult to predict the character and ideas of a society by their role models.

Every person in a society is entitled to their own opinion. While one might have Warren Buffet as their role model for his successful investment tactics, the other might idolize Mozart or Beethoven for their erudite music compositions. Therefore in short each person will choose their role models based on whom they want to emulate in their career.

Another direction which must be taken into consideration is that the same person might have different heroes for different ideas. He or she might be inspired by the simplicity of Abdul Kalam while at the same time he or she might want to follow Elon Musk for his entrepreneurship.

Also, it might not be possible to survey the entire population in a society to know their heroes. Therefore extrapolating the thoughts and ideas of a small population will belie the ideas of the entire society.

Thus it might not be sufficient to read the attitude of a society by analysing their heroes and role models.