Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

The plants and animal species, including human, are the biotic aspects of nature; which in close relation with the abiotic components make the life possible in this world. Nature is bestowed by the wide diversity of living forms; ranging from microorganisms to the huge mammals. The most prominent feature of nature is that each of these species, irrespective of their size and distribution, contribute to the balance of the ecosystem. Human being, due to the advanced intelligence and social behavior, dominates the planet. However, the uncontrolled exploitation of nature by human, for his both rational and irrational needs, has already resulted in the extinction of many life forms and many have attained the endangered status. If the modern man, benighted by his unwarranted domineer above other species, causes the exhaustion of natural system, it shall eventually threaten his own existence; as the man himself is an animate form. Therefore, it is undoubtedly the responsibility of human society to preserve and conserve every plant and animal species, despite the expenses: the every resource man has amassed (technological or financial) has its root in the exploitation of natural resources.

Plant and animal forms are momentous genetic resources. Agriculture, which marks the transition of human from hunting and gathering to systematic settlement, is entirely based on domestication of plant species. Today, the foods we consume are derived from the disease and pest-resistant crops, whose genome contains trait enhancing gene from wild plant species. The antibiotics, used to cure innumerable infections and save millions of life, are obtained from the wild microbes. Modern society cannot even imagine the plausible dilapidation if these advances with their resources get extinct. Therefore, while we utilize these species for our benefit, we must pay rapt attention to their conservation.

The ecosystem is balanced by the complex food chain, each species being associated with the other. Even the slight disruption in this system may lead to the multifold effect in nature. If a species disappears from the network, it eventually leads to the loss of its prey, predators and symbionts, who are interdependent for survival. Lack of effort to maintain the disturbed food chain may turn the cannon towards human civilization.

As we are ourselves the part and parcel of the Mother Nature, we should allow the natural system to proceed in its pace. While we use the diversity of nature as an opportunity for our advancement, we should also pay back commensurately to keep nature in its own state. Thus, not just for its progress, but mainly for its sustainability, human civilization needs to protect the plant and animal species.