It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Friends, are not just an integral part of our social life but also of our personal life. It is widely believed that our close peer circle defines our behavior; a good one makes us progressive while the other causes degression. However, close observation into the life of successful people communicates the insight that success of an individual is defined by his/her ability to make new friends, the good ones who can help one learn and grow. Therefore, I believe that it is always better to make new friends rather than adhering to the old ones. While the excessive reliance on old friends takes a form of status quo that impedes the progess, making new friends makes one ebullient and opens innovative gateways in life.

Making new friends is the way of adding more people to our social list; it is actually the way of expanding our network. In the 21st century, the moment of an individual is defined by his network, as it opens more possibilities, more opportunities and more support in life. To justify this reasoning, we can consider an example of a CEO of a multinational company. If the CEO has wide friend circle, he/she can expand the business to new areas, thereby increasing the success of the firm. Unlike the CEO with narrow social exposure, the former can learn about more business possibilities and can raise the company to apex very quickly. The same idea applies to professionals in every field: politics, science, business or arts.

While limiting the self with only old friends causes the stagnation of knowledge and lifestyle, making new friends overts our mentality to the new culture, lifestyle and perceptions. In the group of same old friends, we tend to think and act the same way. What does it do more than hindering our exploration of ideas, risks and opportunities? We can consider an example of a person from India being a friend with a person from the USA. It is obvious that both get an opportunity to learn about the apparently different lifestyle and way of thinking. It is undoubted that it makes one more creative and seasoned.

Those who are receptive to new people in their life are the most adaptive ones. They are the ones who can stay comfortable in a wide range of social situations. Moreover, they are more likely to contribute to the betterment of the world. For instance, the friendship between James Watson and Francis Crick, two people from different fields of study and nationalities, solved the greatest mystery of molecular biology, the structure of DNA. Their different specializations, when conversed on the same goal, produced a miraculous outcome. It is their openness, respect and welcomes to new people in their life, that made them preemptive than rest of the world.

It is evident from the above reasonings that new friends make one more abreast to the dynamics of the society in addition to revealing innovative possibilities in career and life. Thus, it is always better to make new friends as compared to staying steadfast to old friends.