Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Flora and fauna, preys and predators, life and death, all play a significant role in this universe. Without plants, there is no food for animals. Without animals, a wildlife can be wanting. The author states that some people believe that every aspect of the flora and fauna life should be conserved even if it is at the expense of human's essential resources such as time and money. While some individuals believe that this is how the society needs to proceed, others believe that such extreme measures are not required and the opportunity costs are not worth it. I strongly advocate this view and agree that such extraordinary measures are not necessary to preserve all life.

The question of which lives in this universe is a matter of opinion and many individuals have their own perceptions. However, with the Earth being dominated by humans, it is important that our species is prioritized over other life; it is essential that human interest are meticulously perceived before those of the plant and animal species. This prioritization includes the frugal minds of the society and adroit choices in regards of time expenditure. Will spending an allocating an abundant amount of money be a clever decision? For instance, if a budget consists of $40,000 and $5,000 of that is extemporaneously allocated to the preservation of the flora and fauna, that is $5,000 less that could have been contributed to the development of educational reading amongst the penure children of the United States of America. The proposal that includes substantial costs of saving plants and animals should be a secondary plan.

Also, trying to save every plant and animal to a high extent also insinuates foregoing the consumption of meat. Every meat product consists of the killing of animals, therefore performing the opposite activity that those who are advocating saving as much animals suggest. If the proposal of trying to save every plant and animal is executed, then the meat industry would also be severely affected. This is a great cost to not only the businesses but also the consumers who rely on meat for their daily activities. Economically and individually speaking, abandoning the consumption of meat is not realistic, therefore this proposal is flawed.

Finally, according to the Nature's Column, the current balance of the world associated with preys and predators, animals and plants, and finally humans are at par. Saving every plant and animal possible would burgeon the life on earth. To try to save the maximum number of plants and animals would be to disrupt the balance of the universe.

Although the thought and suggestion to save plants and animals may seem morally superior as it advocates the preservation of life, it would be unreasonable in most cases and would also disrupt the current balance on earth.