The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazzette, the author dictates his concerns and his suggested solution to the stated issue regarding vehicle accidents, particularly accidents revolving around mopeds in the summer where the population burgeons. The author suggests that by reducing the number of mopeds rented during the summer, the number of accidents will decline. However, before this proposal is executed, it is essential that the suggestion be meticulously analyzed, the implications be scrupulously addressed, and the answers to two questions be fully obtained.

Firstly, do the accidents that frequently occur include mopeds? The author portrays that by reducing one mode of transportation will achieve a significant reduction in vehicle accidents. However, there is no provided data that suggests that most of the accidents, or any, involve mopeds. It could be that many accidents involved cars and trucks rather than the mopeds. Due to this insufficient knowledge of data, reducing the moped rental may give a stagnant result regarding the number of accidents on the roads. In order to determine whether or not the reduction of moped rentals would be beneficial, it must be proved that many accidents are caused specifically due to the high volume of moped transportation on the roads. If the situation that dictates that other vehicles are the cause of concern regarding accidents is valid, then the original supposition averred by the author is drastically attenuated.

Secondly, even if many accidents do occur due to mopeds, do the economic and financial reduction of mopeds outweigh the casualties and injuries caused by the accidents. Statistically, there are many casualties linked with car accidents, but no decrease in sales or rentals due to this reason. So, without providing priority to finances over an individual's life, one must still weigh that advantages and the disadvantages of replacing one aspect with another for both the consumers and the sellers. As said in the passage, mopeds are a common form of transportation. One reason it must be common could be of the price or that it is easily accessible. If the rentals were to reduce their rental quantity, then many people would have to look elsewhere for transportation. Perhaps they would utilize a bus or a taxi, they might even use a bicycle or rent a car. As far as we know, with the limited data on hand, any of these modes of transportation have equal risk of an accident. Not only are they similar in their vulnerability, they may also increase the consumers' expenses as well as decreasing revenue of the moped rental owners. So without concrete data that displays sufficient information against mopeds, the primary suggestion is significantly deteriorated. In order to determine whether the opportunity cost of decreasing rentals is favorable, it must be determined that the benefits brought by prevention of accidents exceed the benefits of keeping the rentals as is.

In conclusion, the proposal indicated by the author is severely blemished due to is dependence on copious unjustified presumptions. If the author can provide adequate evidence, cogent reasoning to corroborate the claim, and sufficient remedies to the inquiries, then further explication and analysis of the suggested proposal is possible.