The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

With last year's positive results regarding performances as a premise for assumption, Grandview Symphony has arrived to the conclusion that if they raise the prices of the tickets, they will be on the road to success without the support of city funds. However, before it is established that success will be obtained from increasing the ticket prices, there needs to be an analyzation of two factors associated with this proposal.

Firstly, it is supposed that people will continue to purchase tickets as the prices raise. They would need to obtain some sort of proof that there would be an increase in or atleast a consistency of the same number of audience despite the price increase for the tickets.Who is to say that the people who usually come to see events will continue to come after the price rises. They may think that the plays were only worth the original price and therefore as the price increased, the value of the event mitigated from their perception. Accordingly, assuming that the expenses remain relatively concrete proportionally, the profit might display an adverse affect than the one they had expected and actually lower their revenue. Even if it is stable, then there might be a decrease in the number of people contributing to the audience. So in order for the proposal in their conclusion to be executed, they need to assess and analyze this issue.

Secondly, it is assumed that just because there was a significant increase in the attendance for the symphonies last year, and that it was continuous, that it will continue this year as well. In order for this to hold merit, there needs to be some sort of evidence that the circumstances and environment from the previous year is almost exactly the same as this such as which months consisted of the previous year in which the attendance spiked and which months consist of the current year where the spike is ongoing. The spike in last year may have been initiated in December around Christmas and continued past New Year's Day. First of all this is a short amount of time to determine any statistics and base any future plans on. Second of all, even if it was an extended amount of time, say a span of eleven months, then are the situations the same? Was there a collection of musicians that appeared last year that will definetely appear again this year? Are those musicians as popular? In a span of eleven months, has their been any other entertainment developments that will alter people's pathways from this symphony? In order to proceed with the stated assumption, they need to aver that the previous year has the same notions as the current year.

In order for the supposition dictated by the concluders to hold merit, they need to locate various evidence to build the premise of their decision. If they are able to provide sufficient proof for the success mentioned, then it will be possibile to further evaluate the situation and determine whether the price change will lead to success or failure.